Adventures in Healthy Baking: Flourless Peanut Butter Banana Bread Cookies w/ Oats and Dark Chocolate Chunks

The other day I volunteered to make dessert for my small group and while I wanted to make something healthy (yet still delicious) for my fellow small group members, I chickened out and decided to forgo experimenting on them with healthy baked goods.  I made pumpkin-cheesecake muffins that look delicious and taste delicious, but aren’t exactly healthy. Well, I wish I had gone with my initial desire to make something healthier and made these, because I doubt anyone would be able to tell they aren’t just normal cookies made with flour.

They’re that yummy. Well, at least I think so. But try them for yourself and let me know. They’re really quick and easy.

I know, I know, stop talking and just post the recipe already…

-3

Flourless Peanut Butter Banana Bread Cookies w/ Oats and Dark Chocolate Chunks

-1 ripe banana, mushed
-1 cup natural peanut butter ( I used my homemade cinnamon-vanilla peanut butter.  You could use any nut butter.)
-1 large egg
-1/2 cup oats
-2 tsp vanilla extract
-3 Tbsp pure maple syrup OR honey
-1/2 tsp salt
-1/4 tsp baking soda
-1/2 cup dark chocolate chunks/chips

Preheat oven to 325.

Mix all ingredients in medium bowl until well combined – you don’t have to get fancy, I mixed everything up with the fork I used to mash the banana.

-2

Line cookie sheet with parchment paper, spray/brush with oil/cooking spray of your choice.  Then you know the drill, drop batter on pan to make desired number/size of cookies.  I made them a little bigger than average cookies and I ended up with 12.  If you make them small, you’d probably end up with about 16.

-4

Stick ’em in the oven and bake for approximately 20 min or until just slightly golden brown.

Remove from oven and allow cookies to hang out on a cooling rack for a few min.  You won’t be able to wait long, they’re excellent warm.

-5
-9
-6
-7

You’re welcome.  Now, what are you waiting for?  Go – make these.  And then come back and tell me what you think!

j,ft❤

One thought on “Adventures in Healthy Baking: Flourless Peanut Butter Banana Bread Cookies w/ Oats and Dark Chocolate Chunks

  1. Pingback: My Homepage

Leave a Reply

