Cauliflower Awesome Sauce

Image

Alfredo sauce used to be one of my favorite things, but it is definitely NOT good for you. I’ve seen recipes for “skinny” Alfredo sauce before but I’ve never tried them until I came across this recipe for Creamy Cauliflower Sauce (Click there to go to Pinch of Yum where I found the original recipe – I’ve tweaked my version a bit). It’s not exactly like that creamy Alfredo sauce I used to love, but it is delicious and I’m SO glad I tried it.  It will definitely be a frequent go-to in my kitchen!

Cauliflower Awesome Sauce

– 1 large head cauliflower – I ended up with about 4 cups of florets
– 3 teaspoons minced garlic
– 2 tablespoons butter
– 5 cups liquid – I used half chicken stock, half water (veggie stock would also work)
-1/4 c milk
-1/4 c cream cheese
-salt and pepper to taste (I used lots of fresh cracked black pepper)

Saute the garlic in the butter on low until it’s soft and smells delicious, just don’t brown it. Set aside.

Bring cooking liquid to a boil.  Chop up the cauliflower (just use the florets, not the stem) and boil until tender, about 10 min.  Don’t drain it!

Use a slotted spoon and put the cauliflower in a blender.  Add a ladle full of the cooking liquid, the garlic-butter, salt, pepper, milk and cream cheese.  Blend it up!  Slowly add more of the cooking liquid until you have reached your desired consistency.  You could make it thick or thin – it’s up to you.  Either way, it’s gonna be delicious!

Serve!

Makes about 4 cups of sauce.

What to use this for?  Well if you eat pasta you could use it as a pasta sauce.  I’ve eaten it for a few days now and I’ve had it a couple of different ways.  I served it with roasted spaghetti squash and sauteed shrimp.  I served it with roasted spaghetti squash and chicken breast tenders coated in seasoned garbanzo bean flour.  I used it as a sauce over broccoli and grilled chicken.  I’ve eaten it with a spoon.  My mom loved it – even my picky dad liked it!  Sprinkled with some Parmesan cheese, it’s extra delicious.

Every time I eat this stuff, I think I’m eating something bad for me!

Now look at it – doesn’t it look creamy and delicious!?  Now go make some and put it in your face.Image

Image

Image

❤ Jes

 

One thought on “Cauliflower Awesome Sauce

  1. Pingback: Recipe Friday – Veggie K’nishes & Protein Bakery Giveaway WINNER! | Run 2 Your Own Beat

Leave a Reply

