Okra

Okra has long been one of my favorite foods. I know some people who have never heard of okra, others are turned off by it’s sliminess – but I just love it. The best part is, okra is really good for you – it has lots of vitamin A and C and dietary fiber that is good for normalizing blood sugar and helps with digestion. 

My grandparents always grow oodles of it in their garden and since they know how much I love it, they share! Isn’t it beautiful?ImageNormally, I slice it up, season it, toss it in a cornmeal/flour mix and saute it with onions.  It’s also amazing battered and fried.  BUT – I’m not eating flour at the moment and I’m definitely avoiding fried foods, so I looked up alternative ways to prepare it and I’ve found a new favorite: oven roasted. It’s very easy and delicious!

Oven Roasted Okra

What you’ll need:  fresh okra, coconut oil (or oil/fat of our choice – I’ve also used butter and bacon grease), salt, pepper, spices of your choice.

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
2. Rinse off and pat dry.
3. Chop off the top and slice in half lengthwise (really tiny ones I left whole).Image4. Toss in enough melted coconut oil (or oil/fat of your choice) to coat, I used about a tablespoon.
5. Season with salt, pepper and spices of your choice.  I used smoked paprika, garlic pepper and red pepper flakes (because I like them a little spicy). Image6. Throw them on a cookie sheet and put em in the oven.  Image

7. Bake at 450 for about 5 min – shake the pan around and cook for about another 5 – 8 min until you think they’re done.  They’ll look browned around the edges and some will be crispier than others (the little crispy ones are my fav). ImageImage8. Eat and enjoy!  Aren’t they pretty? Yum yum yum. 

♥ Jes

p.s. What are your thoughts on okra?

2 thoughts on “Okra

  1. Dad LOVES them this way! I wonder if you can freeze them and then still roast them or if they will be too mushy coming out of the freezer for that. I’ll have to give it a try. 🙂

Leave a Reply

