Separation Anxiety

Yesterday was the first day I had to leave my dog home alone all day while I worked.

He did not do well.  I walked in to find the blinds on 4 of my windows broken.  Luckily, they are a cheap fix.   But, it was still frustrating.  And I feel bad that he had such an obviously stressful day.  Today he is home in his crate and although I feel bad for having to leave him in his crate all day, it is safer for him and for my house.  I’ve been studying separation anxiety online and I’m going to work on some training with him that will hopefully help.

734755_845085630192_1620713616_n

As I walked Sulley early this morning, I prayed and thought about how I’m suffering from some separation anxiety at the moment as well.  While I’m not tearing down and chewing on the blinds, I am feeling lonely.  I have a heavy heart and periods of very uncomfortable anxiety.  I’m living alone again after being with family for the past year and a half… and I don’t like it.  Not even a little bit.  But for whatever reason, this is the season of life I am in at the moment.

Obviously, we are both in transitional periods and will have to do some adjusting to our new lives.

Thankfully for me, I know that even though I feel alone, I am not.  God is always there with me.  When I am alone and hurting – all I have to do is cry out to Jesus.  He is the great Comforter.

“Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” 1 Peter 5:7

4 thoughts on “Separation Anxiety

  1. I know it isn’t fun to go through times like this where you are unhappy, lonely or in a difficult situation. But the truth is, maybe you NEED to be lonely to be encouraged to “Cry out to Jesus.” Believe it or not, Joni Erikson Toda actually said that she is glad that she had the accident that paralyzed her because she knows that she was the kind of person who would not have turned to God in an intimate way otherwise. Her life has been incredibly difficult for her, she she says she would not trade the relationship she shares with the Lord as a result of it for anything, even legs that work. So, in comparison, your trial is relatively minor. Use it to strengthen your relationship with God. Focus on Him. BELIEVE what He says when He says that He will never leave you and that He will meet all your needs. Also believe that He will provide you with abundance and joy. All these things are true. I love you, darling. You will be fine! You have so much to offer the world! Let’s roll!

  2. Lexi doesn’t like being alone either. We have to crate her bc she’d definitely chew something up (mostly out of boredom). But a Kong stuffed with canned dog food and frozen overnight keeps the experience positive. Leave a TV or a talk radio show on when you’re not there.

  3. Today I gave him a rawhide smeared with peanut butter before I left and he didn’t whine or bark when I left – so hopefully that will tide him over until I can get a kong. I also left he radio on for him. Hoping he’s having a less stressful day than yesterday, that’s for sure.

  4. I spelled her name wrong. It’s Joni Eareckson Toda. Here’s a link to her website. I’m going to stop at Vintage Books and get her autobiography for you. She’s amazing and has always been a hero of mine. She has helped so many thousands of people even though she, herself, is completely helpless physically.

    http://www.joniandfriends.org/

Leave a Reply

